Skip to content

7 Best AI Courses for Doctors in 2026: Skills for Real Clinical Work

By · · 9 min read

Title card reading "7 Best AI Courses for Doctors in 2026: Skills for Real Clinical Work"

If you want a fast, free introduction to AI concepts, start with Alison's Artificial Intelligence for Beginners or IBM's Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI). If you need a recognised certificate and hands-on practice with workplace AI, Google's AI Professional Certificate or IBM's Foundations of AI are strong fits. For building or deeply customising AI tools, consider IBM's AI Developer Professional Certificate or HarvardX's Computer Science for Artificial Intelligence. If you want a learning path shaped around your own clinical goals and current skill level, Upskili offers a personalised, AI-powered option.

Quick comparison

Course Provider Best for Level Duration Certificate Cost
Artificial Intelligence for Beginners Alison A fast, free intro with no prerequisites Beginner 1.5-3 Hours CPD-Accredited Free
Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) IBM A short, structured fundamentals course Beginner 1 week at 10 hours a week Shareable certificate Check the provider's current pricing.
Personalised learning path Upskili (publisher of this guide) A path built around your own clinical goal Not stated Not stated Not stated Free to approximately $20, depending on AI token/credit usage
Google AI Professional Certificate Google Hands-on practice with generative AI for workplace tasks Beginner Self-paced online Not stated Check the provider's current pricing.
Foundations of AI IBM A recognised certificate with labs on ChatGPT, Copilot and Gemini Not stated 3 months Earn a certificate Original price: $197 USD; Discounted price: $177.30
IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate IBM Building AI-powered chatbots and apps Beginner 6 months at 4 hours a week Shareable certificate Check the provider's current pricing.
Computer Science for Artificial Intelligence HarvardX Deep computer science and AI principles Beginner 5 months Earn a certificate Original price: $518 USD; Discounted price: $466.20

How we chose these courses

We picked courses that match what a doctor actually does in a working week. The criteria were:

  • Relevance to daily clinical work: the course covers tasks like drafting clinical notes, summarising patient histories, triaging messages, or preparing patient education materials, not just abstract theory.
  • No unnecessary prerequisites: a working doctor can start without prior coding or maths. Only the developer-level courses expect programming.
  • Hands-on practice: labs, projects, or activities that let you apply AI to realistic tasks, so you leave with something you can use.
  • Clear cost and certificate: transparent pricing and a recognised certificate where that matters for CPD or a job application.
  • Ordered from most accessible to most specialised: we list courses from a free, three-hour introduction through to a five-month computer science foundation.

Course details come from each provider's own page, checked on 2026-09-29. We did not take the courses ourselves.

The 7 best courses for doctors, one by one

1. Artificial Intelligence for Beginners (Alison)

Best for: doctors who want a free, quick overview of AI with no commitment.

This is a short, self-paced online course that covers the basics of artificial intelligence. It walks through the historical development of AI, types of AI systems, machine learning classifications, and applications across industries. It is the lightest entry point in this list.

What you'll learn:

  • The historical development of artificial intelligence
  • Types of AI systems and how they differ
  • Machine learning classifications
  • Applications of AI in various industries

Worth knowing: The course is broad and does not cover clinical use cases. You will need to connect the concepts to your own practice yourself.

Cost and certificate: Free. CPD-Accredited certificate.

2. Upskili: a personalised path for your goal

Best for: doctors who want learning shaped around their own clinical goal, such as reducing documentation time, rather than a fixed syllabus.

Upskili, the platform that publishes this guide, builds a personalised learning path around your goal, background, current skill level and specific learning needs. You state what you want to achieve; Upskili works out the skills required and teaches them in order, measuring progress by demonstrated capability. It is not a pre-written course. For a doctor who types in "use AI to draft referral letters and summarise lab results faster," the path would start with practical prompt-writing for clinical text, then move into structuring summaries and checking output for accuracy.

Upskili costs Free to approximately $20, depending on AI token/credit usage. Personalised learning experiences are priced based on AI token/credit usage.

What you'll learn:

  • Skills sequenced around your stated clinical goal
  • Practical application to your own tasks, starting from your current level
  • Iterative practice with feedback as you progress

Worth knowing: This is not a fixed course with a set syllabus. It suits people who learn best by working toward their own objective rather than following a pre-defined curriculum.

Cost and certificate: Free to approximately $20, depending on AI token/credit usage. Not stated.

Start your own AI learning path, shaped for doctors

3. Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) (IBM)

Best for: doctors who want a structured, one-week grounding in AI fundamentals from a recognised provider.

This Coursera course covers core AI concepts including deep learning, machine learning, neural networks, and generative AI models. It is designed for professionals and enthusiasts with no prior background. The ten-hour commitment fits into a single focused week.

What you'll learn:

  • Core AI concepts and terminology
  • How deep learning and machine learning work
  • Neural networks and their applications
  • An introduction to generative AI models

Worth knowing: The course is conceptual. It does not include hands-on labs where you practise with tools like ChatGPT or apply AI to clinical documentation.

Cost and certificate: Check the provider's current pricing. Shareable certificate.

4. Google AI Professional Certificate (Google)

Best for: doctors who want hands-on practice applying generative AI to real workplace tasks.

This self-paced programme teaches how to use generative AI for strategy, boosting creativity, and streamlining repetitive tasks. It includes over 20 hands-on activities and builds a portfolio of AI projects. For a doctor, the skills map directly to drafting documentation, summarising information, and preparing patient-facing materials.

What you'll learn:

  • How to use generative AI for workplace tasks such as strategy and creativity
  • Techniques for streamlining repetitive tasks
  • Practical application through 20+ hands-on activities
  • Building a portfolio of AI projects

Worth knowing: The certificate is not specifically accredited for medical CPD. Check with your college whether it counts toward your requirements.

Cost and certificate: Check the provider's current pricing. Certificate details not stated on the provider's page.

5. Foundations of AI (IBM)

Best for: doctors who want a recognised professional certificate and practical labs with widely used AI tools.

This three-month programme covers AI fundamentals, machine learning, deep learning, large language models, neural networks, and prompt engineering. Its hands-on labs use tools like ChatGPT, Copilot, and Gemini, the same tools many doctors are already experimenting with for documentation and summarisation.

What you'll learn:

  • AI fundamentals and machine learning
  • Deep learning and neural networks
  • Large language models and how they work
  • Prompt engineering with ChatGPT, Copilot, and Gemini

Worth knowing: At three months, it requires a bigger time commitment than the introductory courses. The discounted price shown is current as of the date checked; it may change.

Cost and certificate: Original price: $197 USD; Discounted price: $177.30. Earn a certificate.

6. IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate (IBM)

Best for: doctors who want to build or deeply customise AI tools for clinical workflows.

This is a beginner-level professional certificate that covers software engineering, AI, generative AI, prompt engineering, HTML, JavaScript, and Python. It includes hands-on labs and projects to build AI-powered chatbots and apps. A doctor with a clinical improvement idea, say a triage bot for appointment requests, would gain the technical skills to prototype it.

What you'll learn:

  • Software engineering and AI principles
  • Generative AI and prompt engineering
  • HTML, JavaScript, and Python programming
  • Building AI-powered chatbots and apps through hands-on projects

Worth knowing: This course expects you to learn programming. It is the most time-intensive option here at six months, and the skills go well beyond everyday clinical use.

Cost and certificate: Check the provider's current pricing. Shareable certificate.

7. Computer Science for Artificial Intelligence (HarvardX)

Best for: doctors who want a deep, academically rigorous foundation in AI and computer science.

This professional certificate combines CS50's Introduction to Computer Science with CS50's Introduction to Artificial Intelligence with Python. It covers programming fundamentals, graph search algorithms, reinforcement learning, machine learning, and AI principles. It is the most comprehensive technical grounding in this list.

What you'll learn:

  • Programming fundamentals and computer science
  • Graph search algorithms and reinforcement learning
  • Machine learning principles
  • Artificial intelligence principles using Python

Worth knowing: This is the longest and most expensive course listed. It is best suited to doctors moving into clinical informatics, digital health leadership, or AI research roles.

Cost and certificate: Original price: $518 USD; Discounted price: $466.20. Earn a certificate.

Which course should you start with?

  • New to AI and short on time: start with Alison (1) or IBM Introduction (3). Both give you the vocabulary and concepts in under a week.
  • Need a certificate for CPD or your CV: Google (4) or IBM Foundations (5). Both are recognised names with structured programmes and shareable certificates.
  • Want to practise on your own clinical or administrative tasks: Upskili (2) or Google (4). Upskili starts from your goal; Google's hands-on activities apply AI to workplace tasks.
  • Ready to build or customise AI tools: IBM Developer (6) or HarvardX (7). These give you the programming and computer science foundation to create your own solutions.

A learning path for doctors

Phase 1 – Foundations: Start with Alison (1) or IBM Introduction (3). Learn what AI is, the difference between machine learning and generative AI, and what the technology can and cannot do in a clinical setting.

Phase 2 – Hands-on practice with your own tasks: Move to Upskili (2) or Google (4). Apply AI to drafting referral letters, summarising lab results, or preparing patient education materials. Build the habit of reviewing and editing AI output.

Phase 3 – Certificate and deeper skills: Take IBM Foundations (5) for a recognised certificate and broader technical grounding. The labs on prompt engineering with ChatGPT, Copilot, and Gemini are directly useful.

Phase 4 – Specialisation: If your role moves toward clinical informatics or digital health, consider IBM Developer (6) or HarvardX (7) to gain the programming skills for building and evaluating AI tools.

Where AI fits in a doctor's work

Clinical documentation. AI can draft clinical notes, referral letters, and discharge summaries from your bullet points or voice recordings. For example, a GP dictates key findings after a consultation, and an AI tool produces a structured draft letter. The doctor reviews it, corrects any errors, adds clinical reasoning, and signs it. AI output must be reviewed and signed off by a qualified professional; it does not replace clinical judgement or professional standards.

Traditional clinical notes beside an AI-assisted digital summary on a tablet
Illustration (AI-generated)

Patient communication and triage. AI can summarise a long message thread from a patient, suggest a plain-English explanation of a diagnosis, or help prioritise appointment requests by urgency. Suppose a practice nurse receives thirty patient queries in a morning. An AI tool groups them by likely urgency and drafts initial responses. The nurse reviews each one, adjusts the clinical priority, and sends the final replies. The final decision on urgency and content remains with the clinician.

Evidence and decision support. AI can summarise a new guideline or search a set of papers for relevant findings. For example, a consultant preparing for a complex case asks an AI tool to pull key recommendations from the latest NICE guideline on heart failure. The consultant reads the summary alongside the original guideline to confirm accuracy before applying it to the patient. AI output must be checked against authoritative sources and your own clinical judgement.

Imaging and diagnostics. AI tools can flag or prioritise studies, for instance highlighting a possible fracture on an X-ray for earlier review. They do not replace radiological or clinical interpretation. The reporting radiologist or treating clinician remains responsible for the final report and any clinical decisions based on it.

How to decide where to start

Match the course to your immediate goal. If you want a quick, no-cost overview, pick Alison (1). If you need a certificate, look at Google (4) or IBM Foundations (5). If you want to learn by applying AI to your own documentation and communication tasks from day one, start your own AI learning path, shaped for doctors with Upskili. Check the time commitment and cost against your schedule. And remember: no course replaces professional judgement. AI output always needs your review and sign-off.

Frequently asked questions

Will AI replace doctors?

No. AI can help with specific tasks like drafting notes or summarising literature, but it cannot replicate clinical reasoning, physical examination, or the therapeutic relationship. Tasks that require empathy, ethical judgement, and complex decision-making under uncertainty remain firmly with human doctors. AI is a tool to reduce administrative burden, not a substitute for a qualified clinician.

Do I need to know how to code to use AI as a doctor?

Not for most clinical applications. Using generative AI for documentation, summarisation, or patient communication requires no coding. Several courses in this list, like Alison's and Google's, need no prior programming. Coding becomes relevant only if you want to build or deeply customise AI tools for your practice.

Can I use these courses for CPD or continuing medical education credits?

Some courses offer certificates that may count toward CPD requirements, depending on your college or regulatory body's rules. The Alison course provides a CPD-accredited certificate. For others, check with your professional body whether the certificate is accepted before enrolling.

Is it safe to use AI for clinical decision support?

AI can summarise guidelines or flag relevant studies, but its output is not a clinical recommendation. You must verify any AI-generated summary against authoritative sources and apply your own clinical judgement. In regulated professions, AI output must be reviewed by a qualified professional and cannot replace their sign-off.

Which course is best if I have no technical background at all?

Start with 'Artificial Intelligence for Beginners' by Alison. It is free, takes under three hours, and assumes no prior knowledge. It gives you the vocabulary and concepts to understand what AI can and cannot do in a clinical setting.

How much time do these courses really take?

They range from under three hours (Alison) to around six months at four hours per week (IBM AI Developer). The self-paced courses let you fit learning around a full clinic schedule. The durations stated come from each provider's own page.

What is the difference between the two IBM courses?

'Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI)' is a one-week fundamentals course covering core concepts. 'Foundations of AI' is a three-month professional certificate that goes deeper into machine learning, neural networks, and prompt engineering with hands-on labs. Choose the shorter one for a quick grounding, the longer one for a recognised certificate and practical skills.

Can I practise on my own patient data during these courses?

No reputable course will ask you to upload real patient data. Hands-on exercises use synthetic or de-identified datasets. When you apply what you learn to your own work afterwards, you must follow your organisation's data governance and privacy policies, and never enter identifiable patient information into a public AI tool without explicit approval.

Turn this into a plan for you

Tell Upskili what you want to be able to do. It works out the skills involved, starts from what you already know, and teaches them in order, adjusting as you go.

Start with your goal

Sources

  1. Google AI Professional Certificate, Google
  2. Foundations of AI, IBM via edX
  3. IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate, IBM via Coursera
  4. Computer Science for Artificial Intelligence, HarvardX via edX
  5. Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI), IBM via Coursera